I'll have to abridge my previous post. I do actually have another nickname...only Mare-Mare calls me "Metro", because I would probably sock anyone else who tried.
Mare-Mare is a bit of a tough-rebel-nerd. Instead of going into the family business like the rest of us, she works at Best Buy fixing techy things. Went to lunch with her today (I ditched a date...shhh!). Maybe it's because I haven't had the chance to spend a lot of time with Mary since I got back from my mission, maybe it's because I admire her initiative, or maybe it's because she has money and I don't. We went to N-N-Out.
We had a good time, mostly complaining about stuff like dating, parents, jerks and people who just don't understand. It's nice to be around someone who won't try to make me feel guilty every time I say what's on my mind.
I even was able to invite her to church. Then we got in an argument (probably more an argument on my side then it should have been). She used the same argument's I had used against my parents, against church attendance. (Touche, Mare-Mare...Touche)
I wish she could see, I wish I could make her understand that church is about more then just looking right. I guess I'm not the best example of that for her.
"Metro, maybe it's because I don't need a magazine to tell me what I should want in life."
Right, she says that...but if our situations were reversed, she would totally be working the field.
No comments:
Post a Comment